Hi guys! Wow, it has been a while! Sorry about that! I have had limited access to my computer over the past 5 weeks so blogging was kind of out of the question. But I’m back now! 🙂

So while I wasn’t blogging, I was running…and running… and…I ran my first half marathon!!!! Woo hoo!! 🙂

That would be my “Hurry up and take the picture before I pass out” face!

The race was about two hours away so the husband (my photographer :D) and I woke up at about 6 on Sunday morning to make sure we got there early enough to pick up my packet and have time to relax a little bit. Surprisingly, I was able to fall asleep pretty quickly on Saturday night so I was well rested. I usually have such a rough time being able to sleep before a big event but thankfully it was fine. The ride was uneventful and we arrived with plenty of time to spare…race time was 11:00 for runners. On the way up I sipped an iced tea for some caffeine and ate a bagel with maple almond butter.

We walked around a little bit when we got there just to stretch out and see the finish line. It was about 60 degrees and rising. I ate 2 Shot Blocks at about 10:15. Before I knew it we were headed to the start!

 

And we’re off! The course brought us through the town and then out onto rural roads, through some small neighborhoods, and back into town for the finish. I was right in the middle of the pack, pacing myself at about 10:15-10:30 minute miles (with my trusty Garmin Forerunner- love that thing!). For the first 5 miles anyway! That’s when I started to shiver…yes, I was dehydrated…not even halfway through! Argh! My paced dropped about a minute/mile and it was a struggle from there on out. I ate a GU at mile 6 but my stomach was just not having it. I made the mistake of drinking too much water (trying to hydrate) and I was starting to really drag. And this course was HARD! It was very hilly and it ended up being so hot too! I had to take multiple walking breaks and I was so ready for it to be over.

I really tried to enjoy it as much as I could with the way I was feeling. The volunteers were awesome and the spectators were so encouraging! They also had some local musicians set up throughout the course which was neat. I must have registered really early because I ended up with bib number 7…everyone kept yelling “Come on, Lucky Number Seven!” 🙂 I was pretending I was an elite! 😉

We finally get to mile 12 and another lady and I were cheering each other on, almost there! One last steep hill (our own Heartbreak Hill), we come up onto the mile 13 marker, and you can hear the cheering at the finish! Now that, my friends, made it all worth it! What an amazing feeling! I took off! My Garmin clocked in that last 0.2 miles (course was a little over) at a 6.31 pace and I passed 5 or 6 people.

Woo hoo!! It was so amazing to cross that finish line!! And this picture really doesn’t show the crowds of people who were there, cheering everyone on. My time was a minute less than the clock, 2:32.

Going in I had three goals in my head: 1. Beat 2:30 (this was my worst-case), 2. Beat 2:15 (this is where I was thinking I would be), and 3. Beat 2:00 (kind of a long shot but I was hoping). So, I didn’t meet any of my goals. But really, my ONLY goal should have been to finish! An I am very proud of myself that I did just that! Such an accomplishment!

They had refreshments but all I could think about was finding some shade and a drink other than water. I grabbed some natural energy shake (I heard someone say the lime flavor was good so that’s what I grabbed…I don’t even like lime! haha a little out of it! And it was nasty!!) and sat behind a truck for a couple of minutes and tested my blood sugar (husband was carrying my meter…what would I do without him!). My BS was good (115) so we decided to head out to beat the crowd. I couldn’t imagine eating anything anyway.

I waddled back to the car…my legs felt like jello! At home we just chilled out for the rest of the day, I iced and ate…and ate…:)

All of my stuff! I was a little disappointed that they didn’t give out goodie bags! 🙂 oh I’ll survive, I suppose!

So, all in all it was a good race. Didn’t finish where I wanted to but I still finished! A half marathon! I PR’d too! 😉

