I had never tried pulled pork until I tried this recipe. And I think I hit gold on my first try! This slow cooker pork is so amazingly tender and full of flavor. I’ve since tried it elsewhere and this is still my favorite. The best part? I can stick it in the slow cooker before I leave for work and it is perfection when I get home! I’m all for the ease of this recipe alone, but the flavor is really incredible.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Recipe from The Way the Cookie Crumbles (only slightly adapted and cut down to size)

Spice Rub:

  • 1/2 Tbsp ground black pepper
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 Tbsp chili powder
  • 1 Tbsp ground cumin
  • 1 Tbsp dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 Tbsp dried oregano
  • 2 Tbsp paprika
  • 1 Tbsp salt
  • 1/2 Tbsp granulated sugar

1 (3-4 lbs) boneless pork roast
1/2-1 cup water

Barbecue sauce

Mix all spice rub ingredients in small bowl. Massage spice rub into meat and place it in slow cooker. Add water and cook on low for 8-10 hours, until meat is fork-tender.

Transfer roast to cutting board and shred using two forks. Empty liquid from slow cooker into a bowl and set aside. Turn the slow cooker to “Warm” and return the shredded pork to the cooker. Slowly reincorporate some of the liquid that you set aside to the pork, until it is moist. (*) Allow to sit for about 15-20 minutes and then serve on your choice of bread/bun with the barbeque sauce. We ate our pulled pork on toasted olive oil ciabatta (I always toast the bread for pulled pork sandwiches so that it doesn’t get soggy).

*Most recipes (including this one) call for adding some barbeque sauce to the pork at this point and allowing to warm for about an hour. I like to only add it on the sandwich because I really love the flavor the spice rub gives to the pork. I don’t like to overwhelm it with too much sauce and this way each person can customize it to their tastes.

