I wasn’t sure if I was going to share this recipe or not as they didn’t come out quite like I was hoping. They were really good but just not exactly of granola bar texture. I mixed in chocolate chips and they tasted more like an oatmeal chocolate chip cookie! But that’s ok too, right? I will definitely be experimenting with this recipe, changing up the ingredients, and especially the mix-ins. I have so many combo ideas but need to get the bar right first. I think my main issue was that I used quick oats. They don’t really hold their shape when baking so I will definitely be using old-fashioned oats next time. I love the use of honey for the binder!

Chewy Granola Bars

Recipe from a family cookbook

Ingredients

  • 6 cups oats (I used quick but would use old-fashioned next time) (you can also use some rice krispies too)
  • 1 1/3 cup flour
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/4 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup honey
  • 1/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 2/3 cup chocolate chips, nuts, dried fruit, etc.

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Lightly grease a large jelly roll pan. In a large mixing bowl mix all ingredients except for the chocolate chips or whatever your desired mix-in is. After everything is combined, stir in your chocolate chips, nuts, etc.

Press mixture into prepared pan (be sure to press really hard!). Bake for 20 minutes or until golden brown. Press down again. Let cool for 10 minutes then cut into bars. Let the bars cool completely in pan before removing.

I wrapped mine in wax paper for an easy snack on-the-go! Can’t wait to experiment!

