Dramatic much? 🙂 I’ve been finding it to be quite difficult to get to the gym between Tuesday and Friday. I try to go 3 days a week and usually make it there on Saturday and Monday. I just can’t seem to get my butt in gear after work to get my third day in!! I am really not a morning person so evening workouts are really my thing…I may have to try morning workouts if this continues!

I’ve been feeling really guilty about this and it’s stressing me out! I need to realize a few things:

  • Missing a workout or two is not going to undermine my whole workout regime
  • Sometimes I just don’t have the energy and in that case, maybe my body is telling me that I need to rest
  • I can’t go back and change it so I just need to move on…tomorrow is Saturday and I will make it to the gym!

Over the past couple of years I have exercised sporadically. I would get on a schedule of working out, running, etc. but it would only last a couple of weeks (if that). I am slowly changing my lifestyle so that exercise is a part of it, not just some fad. I am really proud of myself for sticking with running and now joining the gym. By mixing things up I have started to enjoy it instead of dreading it! I think that variation and flexibility are key.

I am actually enjoying being able to mix things up. I still love running but training for my half marathon kind of burnt me out. I wasn’t really enjoying it anymore. Part of it may have been the fact that I injured myself during my first training attempt last fall so the training seemed never-ending (I was signed up to run a half in November 2009 but had to back out due to a stress injury in my tibia). I hope that I always love running so taking a break from it when it starts to feel like a chore makes sense to me. There is another half in September that I may sign up for so I should be running again soon.

I love strength training so far and will try to keep this up too, even if I start training for another race. I really want to get into yoga and I tried a little bit last night for the first time! They have a bunch of free videos On Demand, even a couple for beginners! It’ll take me a while to get the moves down but it was fun to learn! I’ll definitely be taking advantage of these freebies before heading to a class.

Do you work out in the mornings or evenings? How many times a week?

Happy Friday!

