I had big plans for a run this morning and had my alarm set for 7:30…Well, I woke up to turn it off and roll over! I slept til 8:45 which kind of put me in a time crunch as we had a wedding to attend at 11:00 a.m…so many weddings lately! I decided that I would finally try making a bowl of oatmeal since nothing else sounded good. Oatmeal is all over the health blogosphere…Caitlin and Kath are both oat connoisseurs and their bowls always look so good! Check out Kath’s Tribute to Oatmeal for tons of different combination ideas! Don’t ever use a package again if you can help it, the real thing is so much better!

My oats contained:

  • 1/3 c. Old Fashioned Oats
  • 1/3 c. water
  • 1/3 c. cow’s milk
  • a dash of salt
  • toppings- ground flax, cinnamon and sugar, and about 1/2 Tablespoon Justin’s Maple Almond Butter (almost gone!! :()

Served in a mug (outside for some natural light)…

Mmmm! This was so good! I gobbled it down in about 2 minutes flat…this amount would be great with a piece of fruit but I would probably increase is to 1/2 cup next time if eating alone (we are out of fruit at the moment)…

Then it was time to scurry around to get ready for the wedding.

Congratulations Mike and Caitlin! Such a gorgeous day and beautiful couple!

We got home around 2:30 so I decided to head out for a run…ugh! Too hot!! I planned to go about 3 miles and brought water even though it was such a short distance. I ended up only going a little over 2 miles and walked quite a bit. Very frustrating but I just have to keep going! My training officially starts on Tuesday!

Enjoy the holiday weekend! I’m hoping to convince the husband to take me to the Apple store to buy one of these:

I need one! 😉

