Sorry for not posting for a few days! I started my new job yesterday and I have just been so tired! My day now starts at 5:45 and I’m at work by 7, quite a jump from 9 seeing as I am not a morning person! But it has been going very well so far…lots to learn but it should get easier every day. It is quite an adjustment from sitting at a desk all day (I used to work in customer service and now I’m working in a cafe/bakery). My feet are so sore! 🙂 I’ll get used to it though and I love being more active.

I get home around 2:30 now so it frees up my afternoon for so many things! I love that I have a couple of hours before dinner to get some chores done or run errands or get my workout in! I was too tired yesterday and today to run when I got home but hopefully I start to get used to the job and can run in the afternoons. My race is coming up quickly so I really can’t take too much time off.

My sister-in-law made some pumpkin cookies on Sunday and I have been dreaming of them ever since! Delicious and perfect for getting into the fall spirit! I decided to whip some up today and found this recipe in a family cookbook.

Ingredients ready to go!

DSC_0448

The star of the show!

DSC_0461

Big Red ready to work…

DSC_0452

DSC_0459

DSC_0467

DSC_0469

They are like little fluffy pumpkin clouds! 😀 I made half of them with walnuts for the nut lovers. Bring on the cooler days, apple picking, and colorful leaves!

DSC_0495

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Recipe from a family cookbook

Ingredients
  • 1 c. shortening
  • 1 c. brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 c. pumpkin
  • 2 c. flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 c. chocolate chips
  • 1/2 c. walnuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Beat shortening until fluffy. Gradually add brown sugar, beat well.  Add the egg and pumpkin, mix well. In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg. Add to the pumpkin mixture and mix until well combined. Stir in the vanilla, chocolate chips and walnuts (if using).

Drop by tablespoon onto a lightly greased cookie sheet. Bake for 13-15 minutes, or until edges are slightly browned. Cool completely on wire racks.

DSC_0487

Now try not to eat them all in one sitting! 😀

