For some reason I was just in the mood to bake today! I didn’t have a run planned and I got most of my cleaning done so I had some free time and a couple recipes that I wanted to try out. First up, banana walnut bread. To be honest it wasn’t that I was dying to try this but rather that I had bananas that needed to be used up and this was an easy recipe! 🙂 And I just felt like baking something!

I am really glad I made this! This bread is incredibly simple and insanely good! It is perfectly moist and the walnuts provide a nice crunch…this will probably be my breakfast for a couple of days! 🙂 This turned up to be the perfect way to use up some very ripe bananas and I’ll definitely make it again.

DSC_0460

Banana Walnut Bread

Recipe from the Better Homes and Gardens cookbook

Ingredients

  • 2 c. flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 1/2 c. mashed ripe banana (5 medium)
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease bottom and sides of a 9x5x3-inch loaf pan; set aside. In a large bowl combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg.

In a medium bowl combine eggs, banana, sugar, and oil. Add egg mixture to the flour mixture and stir until moistened (batter should be lumpy). Fold in walnuts.

Spoon batter into prepared pan. Bake for 55 to 60 minutes or until a wooden toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean (if necessary, cover loosely with foil for the last 15 minutes of baking to prevent overbrowning). Cool in pan on a wire rack for 10 minutes. Remove from pan and cool completely on rack.

This is really great on it’s own but I’m sure it will be amazing with butter! Everything is better with butter… 😉

DSC_0453

