My new running shoes arrived on Friday! My only problem is that now I only have a week to try to break them in, and it’s a taper week at that! I could run the half (it’s on Saturday) in my old shoes but they are really worn out and give me huge blisters. Or I can just run in my new ones and try to break them in on a few shorter runs this week…Since they are the same style as my old ones it probably wouldn’t be too big a deal to use them without putting a lot of mileage on them first. If I had switched to a new shoe I would definitely not run the race with them since it takes a bit to get used to a new shoe.

I decided to go for a short run in my new shoes to get a feel for them. My taper is going to involve two or three short runs today, tomorrow, or Wednesday and then Thursday and Friday will be rest days leading up to the race.

New shoes…so bright and shiny! 🙂

DSC_0530

And a new shirt! I picked this up on Saturday night for the race but wanted to try it out beforehand, just to make sure that it won’t cause any problems! It is Under Armor Heat Gear. If you haven’t noticed, I do not try out anything new on race day! It’s a good idea to stay with what has worked for you in the past, even eating the same food as you normally do pre-run.

DSC_0543

I set off for a slow and easy four miler. My heels were killing me again! I decided to cut it short and ran 3 miles in 32:44. By the end of the run my feet were feeling better so hopefully the shoes will work out…the shirt was really comfortable and I love the longer length (I hate short tech shirts!) so I will probably wear it on Saturday. I can’t believe it is already race week!

I decided to try a new recipe for dinner, Szechwan Beef Stir-Fry.

DSC_0583

It was very good and I’ll post the recipe sometime soon.

Dessert may be a piece of dark chocolate or a slice of banana bread…or both. 😀

