I found this recipe while flipping through the Better Homes and Gardens cookbook a few weeks ago and put it on my list of meals to make. The husband isn’t a huge pasta fan so I decided to make it last night as he was working late. The recipe makes four servings so I cut it in half…well I halved everything but the pasta! 🙂 I’m a genius, I know.

Needless to say it was rather dry but still tasted pretty good! It was very easy and quick to make but I would probably play around with some seasoning next time…it just needed something. Maybe some garlic or red pepper flakes for some heat (I am always adding red pepper flakes to everything! :D). And of course I still used the original amount of bacon because who doesn’t love bacon??

If you’re craving pasta and looking for an easy dish, this is it!

(Sorry about the picture quality! The sun had set and I don’t have a light box yet.)

Fettuccine alla Carbonara

DSC_0674

Recipe from the Better Homes and Gardens cookbook

Ingredients

  • 6 slices bacon, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 6 ounces dried fettuccine or linguini (I used whole wheat spaghetti)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 cup half-and-half, light cream, or milk
  • 2 Tbsp butter or margarine
  • 1/2 c grated Parmesan or Romano cheese
  • 1/4 c snipped fresh parsley
  • Coarsely ground black pepper

Cook bacon until crisp; drain. Cook pasta according to package directions; drain and keep warm.

Meanwhile, for sauce, in a saucepan combine egg, half-an-half, and butter. Cook and stir over medium heat until egg mixture just coats a metal spoon (about 6 minutes); do not boil. Immediately pour sauce over pasta; stir gently to coat.

Add cooked bacon, Parmesan cheese, and parsley; stir gently to combine. Season with pepper and serve immediately.

Enjoy!

DSC_0678

