DSC_0754

It has been a very rainy day here in New Hampshire! I don’t think the sun peaked out all day. After work I just wasn’t in the mood to run and the husband got home from work early so I decided to skip the workout today to spend some time with him. I planned to go grocery shopping too but that didn’t happen either! 🙂 A very productive day, I must say. 😉

I browsed on-line for a recipe using lentils since I bought a bag the other week. Can you believe I had never cooked with lentils before tonight?? I saw this recipe for lentil soup and decided to give it a go since it seemed really easy and I had all of the ingredients (except bacon, since I used that all up earlier this week)!

This soup is amazing! Ridiculously easy and so flavorful! The lentils make it into a very filling meal. This will definitely be making an appearance again on my menu, especially during the cold winter months (ugh!).

Hearty Lentil Soup

DSC_0744

Recipe courtesy of Martha Stewart

Ingredients

  • 3 strips bacon, cut into 1/2-inch pieces (I omitted this but will try to use it next time as I’m sure it would be amazing)
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 3 medium carrots, peeled, halved lengthwise, and cut into 1/4-inch half-moons
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 Tbsp tomato paste
  • 1 1/2 cups lentils
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme (I used a dash of ground thyme and the about 1-1 1/2 tsp of basil/oregano)
  • 3 1/2 cups chicken broth
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 Tbsp red wine vinegar
  • Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper

In a large pot or dutch oven (5 quart), cook bacon over medium-low heat until browned and crisp, 8 to 10 minutes. Pour off all but 1 tablespoon fat. If skipping this step, heat 1 tablespoon of oil in pot.

Add onion and carrots; cook until softened, about 5 minutes. Stir in garlic, and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Stir in tomato paste, and cook 1 minute.

Add lentils, thyme, broth, and 2 cups water. Bring to a boil; reduce to a simmer. Cover; cook until lentils are tender, 30 to 45 minutes.

Stir in vinegar, 1 1/2 teaspoons salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper. Serve immediately.

Serves 4

DSC_0770

