If you are looking for a treat that is remotely healthy, run in the other direction! Now, if you are looking for a bar that is insanely good and chock full of all of the major food groups (chocolate, peanut butter, butterscotch), then read on.

My husband absolutely loves these bars! I don’t make them that much, and you’ll see why when you look at the ingredient list, but I decided to make these for a little treat to add to his lunch. They are very quick and easy to make and don’t require any baking!

I did manage to eat three in one day! 😀 Oops! This may need to be a once a year event!

DSC_1010

Scotcheroo Bars

Ingredients

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup corn syrup
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 6 cups crispy rice cereal
  • 1 cup butterscotch chips
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

In a medium saucepan combine the sugar and corn syrup. Stir until the mixture starts to boil, then remove from heat. Add vanilla, peanut butter, and crispy rice cereal and mix until combined. Press into a greased 9×13 pan.

Melt the butterscotch and chocolate chips together, stirring to combine. Spread evenly over bars. Allow topping to cool and harden before cutting.

Store in an air-tight container.

Source: a family cookbook

DSC_1032

Yum! But dangerous! If you want to attempt to make this a little healthier I found some recipes that use honey instead of corn syrup. Just look around on Google and you’ll be sure to find some modified versions!

In other news, I have been mixing up my workout routine a little bit. Rather than heading out on random runs, I have been running and walking to do some errands! On Tuesday I walked with a backpack to the grocery store to pick up some items we needed, which was a 3 mile trek. Yesterday I ran 2.5 miles and today I walked to the bank (about 1.5 miles)! Not getting in a lot of mileage but it is a nice change!

I’m still contemplating another race but haven’t decided on anything yet…hmm…the race season is almost over already!

