DSC_1112

This fall weather just begs for dinners of soup and bread and we have definitely been obliging! I have had beef stew on my menu for a few weeks but kept forgetting to pick up stew meat! I picked it up over the weekend so I was finally prepared. I browsed around a few blogs and sites looking for a recipe that appealed to me (and also for one that I had all of the ingredients for on hand).

I decided to try a tomato-based stew since I had a can of diced tomatoes in the pantry. I found this recipe and used it as a base, changing a few things to fit our pantry! 🙂 Soups always surprise me at how easy they are to throw together! I got to use my new pot! I love it!

DSC_1092

If you are looking for a different take on classic beef stew, definitely give this a try! Feel free to throw in whatever you have on hand! I’m sure it’ll be delicious! 🙂

Tuscan Beef Stew

DSC_1116

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons butter or oil
  • 1 pound stew beef
  • 1 can (28 ounces) diced tomatoes
  • 2 cups beef broth
  • 1-2 stalks of celery
  • 1-2 carrots
  • 2-3 potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground thyme
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • salt and pepper to taste

Melt the butter in a large pot or dutch oven over medium heat. Add stew meat and cook until browned, about 5-10 minutes.

Add the onion, celery, and carrots and cook until crisp-tender, about 4-5 minutes. Add the garlic and cook until tender, about 1 minute. Add the potatoes, tomatoes and beef broth. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low.

Cover and simmer for about 25-30 minutes. If you have more time, let it simmer for up to two hours. The longer it simmers, the more tender the beef will get!

Source: Adapted from Comfort of Cooking

P.S. I just added a Recipe page! The link is in the header at the top of the page! 🙂

