dsc_1128

Has the holiday season officially begun? I believe it has! Especially after making these cookies! My husband loves gingersnaps and is always asking me to make some. I decided to try some out for his ‘treat of the week’ to welcome in November! 🙂

I was, once again, browsing the web for a recipe. I usually look on Tastespotting or Foodgawker to find ideas since the recipes all have photos! I love seeing a picture of the finished product before I start. These looked delicious and did not disappoint! A little crisp on the outside and perfectly chewy on the inside, these gingersnaps just about melt in your mouth! The mixture of spices, molasses and butter is truly amazing!

Gingersnaps

DSC_1113

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup shortening (I used butter instead since I was out)
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 1 egg
  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/4 cup sugar (for coating)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. In a large bowl combine the shortening, brown sugar, molasses, and egg. Once combined, add the remaining ingredients (except for the sugar to be used for coating) and mix well until a soft dough is formed.

Roll dough into balls (I used about a tablespoon…or more… of dough for each cookie but you can make them as big or small as you please). Roll in sugar to coat and place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper, about 2 inches apart.

Bake for about 9-12 minutes, depending on the size of your cookies.

Source: Small Home Big Start

Enjoy with a cold glass of milk or a hot cup of coffee or tea!

DSC_1144

This set of cups and saucers was my grandmothers. My mom passed it on to me when I got married! It is from Finland and I absolutely love it!

