I really don’t have a go-to recipe for chocolate chip cookies so I’ve decided to try out a bunch to find “the one.” I was a little nervous when I saw how flat these got but they are actually very good. Don’t let the thinness fool you, they are amazingly chewy!

I have a few more recipes to try out so we’ll see if any top these…I really want a thicker cookie so I think the search will continue, though I will gladly devour these without complaint! 😉

DSC_1351 

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of butter, room temp.
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 12 oz. bag of chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle, cream together the butter, sugars, egg, and vanilla until combined. Scrape the sides of the bowl when necessary.

In a medium mixing bowl combine the flour, salt, baking powder, and baking soda. Whisk to blend.

Add the dry mixture to the wet mixture and mix to combine. Add the chocolate chips and mix until incorporated.

Scoop onto a parchment-lined baking sheet (I think I used a medium scoop), about 2 inches apart. Bake for 10-12 minutes, or until edges are lightly browned. Allow to sit for about 1 minute, then transfer to a wire rack to cool.

Source: Top Secret Recipes

DSC_1321

DSC_1324

I only baked half the batch and froze the rest of the dough in an air-tight container. It seems we get sick of cookies pretty fast and end up throwing the old, crumbly ones away after a while. This way I have cookie dough ready to go in a pinch!

Enjoy!

