Work passed by quickly this morning and I was headed home before I knew it. I’m only working part time so I get out at 1. I reheated some leftovers for lunch…meatloaf! I hated it as a kid but it equates comfort food now. I also had some mashed potatoes and carrot sticks (not pictured).

DSC_1356

It’s pretty ugly, I know. But it tasted good! 🙂 My mother-in-law sent me two new cookbooks as an early birthday gift (Thanks, Nola!) and I found the recipe in there. I made up my own sauce for the top but this was really, really good and I will definitely make it again when the need hits. It’s a basic recipe but it’s delicious!

Meatloaf

Ingredients

  • 1-1 1/2 lbs. ground beef
  • 1 cup bread crumbs
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 small onion, minced

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a medium bowl, combine all ingredients. Form into a loaf and place in a greased baking dish. Bake for 50-60 minutes.

For the sauce I combined about 1/2 cup ketchup, 1-2 Tablespoons brown sugar, 1/2-1 teaspoon spicy brown mustard, and a dash of soy sauce. Adjust to your tastes.

Spread sauce over baked meatloaf and return to oven for 10 minutes. Slice and enjoy!

I ran to the grocery store to grab some things for dinner and just happened to find a few things that I’ve been wanting to try! Crofter’s Superfruit Spread Asia, Siggi’s yogurt, brown rice syrup, and an Attune probiotic dark chocolate bar.

DSC_1364

I was most excited about the yogurt and had to open one up for a snack…

DSC_1367

Ah-mazing! 🙂 I’m not sure if you can tell how thick it is from the picture below but it’s the thickest yogurt I’ve ever had…and it has 16 grams of protein in 6 ounces! The flavor is subtle and not overly sweet…perfection! They are a bit pricey at $1.99 each but they are a nice treat. I ate half of the container.

DSC_1375

I also snacked on some goldfish…cuz they smile back! 🙂

DSC_1380

Hope you’re having an awesome day!!

