DSC_1363

My view for the next two days… 😦

I woke up to the start of what’s predicted to be quite the storm…we are expected to get 20-25 inches…oh joy!

I cheered up a bit when I remembered that I planned to make pancakes this morning! Pancakes fix anything…

Syrup helps.

DSC_1350 

I made a single serving of Bob’s Red Mill 7 grain pancake mix, using soy milk instead of water and adding in some chia seeds (about a teaspoon or so).

DSC_1361

Scrumptious! Since I halved the recipe which originally called for one egg, I beat the egg and added half to the mix…then scrambled the other half so I wouldn’t waste it! 🙂

DSC_1353

Just what I needed to brighten my morning!

It doesn’t look like I’ll be going anywhere today so I’m off to get some cleaning done and to find a workout video on demand…though a run in this weather would be kind of fun if it wasn’t so dangerous!

I’m starting a new little addition to my posts called Beginning the Balance and will try to include some tips for people who are looking to start a journey towards a healthier lifestyle. Disclaimer: I am not a health or fitness expert and don’t have a medical degree so these tips are just things that work for me. They may not be right for you and may not work for you so keep that in mind. You should always check with your doctor before starting a new diet or exercise regime.

Beginning the Balance: If you are looking to clean up your diet but don’t know where to begin, start by reading the ingredient lists of packaged foods you eat. If the list is a mile long and you can’t pronounce half of the ingredients, it probably isn’t the best choice. Try to choose foods with ingredients you recognize as healthy options…and as few ingredients as possible!

Do you have any tips for starting out on a healthy journey? Please share!

