I pretty much stayed in all day, doing laundry and cleaning. Reid and I made a quick trip to the grocery store but other than that I have been shut in. In between chores (me) and plowing (him) we caught up on our DVR…The Bachelor, anyone? This was my first time watching it…and I’m not so sure I like it. They are all kind of annoying…and I usually love reality shows! 🙂

Lunch consisted of giant salads for both of us made with romaine, carrots, celery, chickpeas, salt, pepper, and Annie’s Lite Raspberry Vinaigrette.

DSC_1345

DSC_1351

The dressing wasn’t that great and we wished we had remembered the pomegranate balsamic vinegar that I bought in Florida…would’ve been delicious drizzled on top!

And a Honey Butter Blondie that I made last night…yum!

DSC_1357

The recipe is from The Wannabe Chef (click the link to view the recipe).

The only change I made was to use half honey and half brown rice syrup, only because I was low on honey. I also used wheat flour and butterscotch chips, though next time I would use chocolate chips. The butterscotch was a bit too sweet. These were really good and very versatile!

After grabbing groceries I snacked on some fresh bread from the bakery and started prepping dinner…Cobb Club Sandwiches. I found this recipe while flipping through a family cookbook and thought I would try it for some variety. It was very tasty and easy! We didn’t have blue cheese on hand so we used feta (except I forgot to put it on mine!). I will definitely be making these again…the creamy avocado creates a nice contrast with the toasty bread and the chicken is very flavorful.

Cobb Club Sandwiches

DSC_1359

Ingredients

  • 1/8 cup olive oil
  • 1/8 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1-1 1/2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breast
  • 4 strips of bacon
  • 1/2 an avocado, sliced thin
  • Mayonnaise
  • Lettuce
  • Tomato, sliced thin
  • Blue cheese, crumbled
  • salt and pepper

Combine the oil, vinegar, and mustard in a shallow dish. Season the chicken breast with salt and pepper and place in dish, turning to coat. Cover and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes. Cook the bacon and set aside.

Once your chicken has marinated, cook in a skillet over medium heat for about 7 minutes on each side, or until cooked through. Remove from pan and allow to sit for a few minutes.

Toast your bread. Slice your chicken thinly, at an angle. Assemble your sandwich with all ingredients. Enjoy!

Source: a family cookbook

Beginning the Balance: If you find that you don’t really enjoy vegetables, discover new ways to prepare them! Try roasting potatoes, brussel sprouts, carrots, mushrooms, or broccoli with a little olive oil, salt and pepper for a tasty and easy dish. Make kale chips. Incorporate greens into a smoothie (you usually can’t even taste them)! Make baked sweet potato fries. The possibilities are endless…and anything but boring!

