The only thing about the Super Bowl that I enjoy is usually the food…obviously! We didn’t have any parties to attend this year so it was just Reid and I, on our own. I didn’t have anything planned but decided this afternoon that we needed at least something to munch on.

I didn’t feel like running to the grocery store so I was stuck with what we had on hand…I took care of the sweet side by whipping up a pan of caramel oat bars (I’ll post the recipe soon) but was a little stumped on the savory half.

After a while of standing in the pantry door I spotted a bag of potatoes…hmm, potato skins? I didn’t have any of the other ingredients…Fries? Chips? I decided on the latter…with Reid’s help we had ourselves a tasty, salty appetizer in no time, perfect for the game! Or blogging…I need snacks too! 😉

These were so easy and use only a few ingredients. You can really be creative and top them with almost anything…we split them into four parts and seasoned them with the following: salt and vinegar, garlic powder (garlic salt would’ve been better but we didn’t have any), seasoned salt, and freshly ground black pepper. All were equally delicious and they were gone in a matter of minutes…I have no control around crispy potatoes! 🙂

DSC_1350

Oven Baked Potato Chips

Ingredients

  • Potatoes
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt, pepper, or any seasoning of your choice!

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Scrub potatoes and slice very thin, about 1/8 inch thick. We used a grater for this and it was a breeze. Toss with olive oil. Spread out in a single layer on a baking sheet and sprinkle with your choice of seasonings. Bake for 20-30 minutes or until crispy and browned. Adjust seasoning to taste.

DSC_1352

We used the flat side of this grater.

DSC_1337

DSC_1322

DSC_1331 

Yum! Some were still a little soft but we didn’t discriminate. 😉

DSC_1345

We dipped ours in ketchup and honey mustard but they were good on their own too! I’m thinking that some kind of garlic aioli would be divine…or an olive tapenade dip…yum!

