Today was a #fail in terms of healthy eating…until this evening anyway! I was in a rush this morning (the snooze button was hit a few too many times) so I gulped down a bowl of cereal and grabbed an iced coffee on my way out…Reid’s cousin has been in Guatemala for some time and brought us some coffee to try from there. Whenever he brews a pot I refrigerate the leftovers! Win win! 🙂 And it’s really yummy…

So that’s not so bad but once I got home from work I was starving…and proceeded to eat half a sleeve of crackers, topped with pepperoni…yup. That was my lunch. Oh, and I topped it off with a caramel oat bar. 🙂

After that nonsense I tried to get motivated for a run but just wasn’t feeling it. I put my gym membership on hold for a few months since we were supposed to start P90X today (the DVD’s haven’t arrived yet) so that isn’t an option for the time being. I rolled out the yoga mat and did Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred on demand…it was only level one but was still a pretty good workout. I only have 8 pound hand weights so it was tough at times…I’m a wimp! 🙂

DSC_1329

As I was stretching at the end I finally got the urge to go for a run…the Shred is only 20 minutes longs so I suited up to compliment that with a 2.25 mile loop around the neighborhood. I “unwired” for this run…no Garmin or iPod. The only thing I brought along was a package of fruit snacks, just in case my blood sugar dropped suddenly. I always try to run with some sort of sugar, just in case. Thankfully I didn’t need to eat it!

DSC_1320

I’ve missed running so much! Even though I spent most of my time dodging slush puddles and sniffling, it was awesome!

Now on to dinner…Reid called to say he was going to be late so I had to come up with something for one, and quick…because if you didn’t know, crackers and pepperoni don’t hold you over for very long! I snacked on a pear as I pulled veggies out of the fridge.

DSC_1341

Chicken Stir-Fry for One

 

DSC_1356 

Ingredients

  • 2 ounces whole wheat pasta
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • one chicken breast
  • one carrot, julienned
  • 1/4 red bell pepper, julienned
  • a few broccoli florets, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 1/8-1/4 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1 teaspoon hoisin sauce
  • 2 teaspoons soy sauce
  • crushed red pepper (optional)

Prepare pasta according to directions. Set aside.

In a nonstick skillet, heat the oil over medium heat. Cube the chicken breast and add to the hot skillet, cooking until only slightly pink inside, about 3-4 minutes. Add the carrots, red bell pepper, and broccoli and sauté until crisp-tender, about 4 minutes. Add the garlic and cook for about 30 seconds.

Add the hoisin sauce and soy sauce, stirring to coat. Add the pasta and red pepper flakes (if using) and toss to coat. Remove from heat and serve immediately.

DSC_1345

This was delicious! So quick (it took about 20 minutes) and easy, yet full of flavor! The crunchy veggies were the best part and I would probably leave out the chicken next time as it didn’t really add much flavor to the dish. Added protein, at least! I used organic pasta, chicken and vegetables. I’ll probably whip some up for Reid when he gets home since it was so good!

Tomorrow is going to be a busy day! I have my first large cupcake order to fulfill for a bridal shower! I’m excited! 😀

Beginning the Balance: I really struggled with portion control for a while and found that using portioned containers or measuring out my food helped me to recognize proper portions on my own. Use a smaller plate. Putting snacks into a bowl rather than eating from a bag helps to control mindless eating. Try to focus on your food rather than eating while working, watching TV, reading, etc.

