I have been obsessed with oranges lately, as I seem to be with most in-season fruits. They are just so juicy and refreshing this time of year and the one bright spot in the dull winter.

DSC_1436

I had a few sitting in the fridge that were a bit overripe so I started hunting down a recipe to use them up. I found a recipe for orange pound cake and pulled out all of the ingredients for it only to realize that I really didn’t want to make it. Next recipe…cookies! Easy enough for a quick treat!

These cookies are amazing! Seriously. I was a little skeptical at first but the flavors compliment each other perfectly. The orange zest gives them a nice citrus hint without being overpowering and the sweet chocolate and crunchy pecans make for an irresistible combination.

I used these new silicone mats (by Martha Stewart) that I picked up this weekend at Home Goods…they even have little round circles marking where to place your cookies! I love them already! 😀

DSC_1362

Orange Chocolate Chip Cookies

 

DSC_1408

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon orange zest
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 1 1/2 cup chopped pecans

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease cookie sheets or line with parchment paper.

In a medium mixing bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder and salt; set aside. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream together the butter, sugars, orange zest and vanilla extract until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each one.

Add dry ingredients and stir until combined. Stir in chocolate chips and pecans.

If desired, refrigerate dough for about 15-20 minutes. This will yield a slightly thicker cookie but is not necessary.

Drop onto cookie sheets using a small or medium cookie scoop or a tablespoon, about 2 inches apart. Bake for 10-12 minutes, or until golden brown. Allow to cool for a few minutes on cookie sheets, then transfer to wire racks.

Enjoy!

DSC_1411

Source: All Recipes

If you’re feeling extra dangerous (clearly I was) you can make an orange glaze to drizzle on top…because these cookies are obviously lacking in the sugar department! 😉

DSC_1424

DSC_1428 

Don’t mind the pools of glaze…it’s an art to be able to photograph and pour at the same time…one I clearly haven’t mastered.

DSC_1434

This really enhanced the orange flavor! I just used the juice from an orange and mixed in powdered sugar until it reached my desired consistency.

And that didn’t last very long…

DSC_1435

Yum! 😀

