I’ve been on a cookie kick lately (orange chocolate chip cookies, anyone?) and I always love chocolate so I decided to whip up some chocolate cookies. I don’t think I’d ever made chocolate cookies before, always sticking with traditional chocolate chip cookie recipes in the past, but after seeing these on Annie’s Eats, I have been dreaming of them since.

These are so delicious and definitely cure your chocolate cravings! I didn’t make giant ones but one of these smaller ones is plenty! They are so moist and chewy that I will definitely make them again! The cookie base would be great with many different mix-ins, like peanut butter chips, walnuts, toffee pieces, etc.

Double Chocolate Cookies

 

DSC_1409 

Ingredients

  • 1 cup cold unsalted butter, cubed (I only had salted so I just cut back on the salt)
  • 1 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup dark cocoa powder (I used regular unsweetened)
  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon coarse salt (I used about 1/8 since I used salted butter)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line baking sheets with parchment paper or silicone mats and set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat together butter and sugar until fluffy, about 2-3 minutes. Add eggs one at a time, blending well and scraping the bowl down after each addition. Add the cocoa powder and mix well. Add the flour, salt and baking powder, mixing on low speed until just incorporated. Fold in chocolate chips.

Scoop out dough using a medium scoop (mine were heaping). Roll into a ball and place on lined baking sheet, about 2 inches apart. Flatten slightly.

Bake for 12-16 minutes, depending on the size of your cookies. Allow to cool for a few minutes on pans, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Source: Annie’s Eats

A large glass of milk may be required.

DSC_1395

