I will admit that this was my first time making corn bread from scratch…I think I’ve made it one or two times before and it has been a box mix. I’ve always found them to be slightly dry with a grainy texture.

This, my friends, is the opposite! Surprisingly moist and delightfully fluffy, this is what corn bread is all about. Eaten warm, with a dab of honey or butter (or honey butter like my mom used to make), this is a great compliment to any meal! This recipe can easily be adapted to make corn muffins if you so desire.

Easy Corn Bread

 

DSC_1367

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups flour
  • 3/4 cup corn meal
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup skim milk
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 egg

Heat oven to 400 degrees. Grease an 8 or 9 inch pan; set aside.

In a medium mixing bowl, combine dry ingredients. Stir in milk, oil and egg, combining just until moistened. Pour batter into prepared pan.

Bake for 20-25 minutes or until light golden brown and tester inserted into center comes out clean.

Serve warm.

  • To make corn muffins, pour batter into 12 greased or lined medium muffin tins. Bake 15-20 minutes or until golden brown.

Source: Quaker corn meal container

DSC_1363

