Hi guys! I hope your week is going great so far!

We have finally hit spring in New England and it’s so refreshing! The winter was such a drag and I finally feel like I have some ambition again to cook and bake…I can’t wait until our garden is planted and growing some fresh veggies.

I took advantage of the sunshine after work and went out for a quick run…I planned to go for three miles but then realized my iPod was dead so it was quickly shortened to a 2.25 loop. The extra .75 mile would’ve been unbearable without some tunes! 😉

I completed 2.25 miles in 22 something, with an average pace of 9:49. I chose a loop with a major hill and I absolutely crushed it! It’s right at the beginning of the loop so it slowed me down a little for the second half but I was still proud of myself for pushing through it…it’s the little challenges! I’m hoping to finally get a PR at Saturday’s 5K…I’m not familiar with the course but I’m hoping for something flatter than the last one!

Once home I stretched and started on dinner. I bought some wild Alaskan salmon filets and needed to use them up…I love salmon!!

DSC_1481

I didn’t follow a recipe but just kind of threw it together…I first seasoned the salmon with sea salt and crushed black pepper. Then I cooked them in a little olive oil over medium-high heat, 2-3 minutes on each side.

The salmon was moved to a plate (over a bed of fresh spinach) and some mushrooms were thrown into the same pan. Once sautéed, I added some teriyaki sesame sauce and tossed to coat. I only left it in the pan long enough for the sauce to warm up and then spooned it over the salmon. I put a bit too much sauce but other than that they were really good! Served with a side of rice pilaf (from a box).

DSC_1474 

I really wanted to try a citrus or maple glaze but Reid claims he doesn’t like either…I think that a maple pecan crusted salmon would be amazing with the spinach…actually, I know that it would be incredible. I will have to try it next time!

I have some banana walnut bread in the oven! Can’t wait to have a slice for dessert!

Enjoy your evening!

