Hi friends! Another glorious day! I didn’t get a workout in today but that’s ok…it was a busy one!

I decided to try something new for dinner tonight and was really excited!

DSC_1421

Tempeh! For those of you that aren’t familiar with it, tempeh is a soy product (like tofu) made with fermented soy beans…this one is made with millet, brown rice, and barley as well. I love trying new things and have seen this around for a while so I decided to go for it…

DSC_1424

Since Reid is more of a “meat and potatoes” type of guy (though he will usually try whatever I make) I decided to try my hand at tempeh bacon for TBLT’s. I searched Foodgawker and with this recipe in hand, I started slicing.

DSC_1430

Ingredients for the marinade (not sure why the salt is there)…

DSC_1432

Marinating…

DSC_1442

And pan fried.

DSC_1447

I think the liquid smoke was what threw me off at first and after trying it I can confirm that this was a major fail. The texture was fine but it just tasted disgusting. We will not be repeating this. 🙂 Reid opted for a turkey sandwich instead but I decided to give it a chance in sandwich form.

DSC_1463

A tempeh BLT with a side salad with mixed greens, feta, strawberries, and these maple walnuts (my new love).

DSC_1446

After a few bites, the tempeh was discarded…I just couldn’t do it! At least we gave it a fair try…and I would still like to try it prepared in a different way.

DSC_1458

The salad was devoured…yum!

Off to run some errands! Enjoy your evening!

