Hi guys! Sorry for being MIA for a while…I’ve been here and there…did you watch the Royal Wedding? Sick of hearing about it? 🙂 Well, I was up at 5 a.m. yesterday to watch and I loved every second. So romantic! And now I’m done, I promise. 🙂

My dad and I signed up for another 5K and it crept up on me! I haven’t really been running as much as I would’ve liked but I figured I’d run it anyway and see what I could do. I woke up this morning around 7:20, a little later than I had planned, and quickly got everything together to meet my dad at 8:00. The race wasn’t until 10:00 but it was about 50 minutes away.

I grabbed an egg and cheese bagel sandwich and an iced coffee for the road.

IMG_4411

I wasn’t sure how the iced coffee would affect me since I hadn’t drank it before a race yet (though I drink it almost every day) but it was fine! I wouldn’t have tried it out for the first time if the race was longer but I figured I could still finish a 5K even if I wasn’t feeling that great. I’m a risk taker, what can I say? 😉

The race was a 10K and 5K in Manchester, NH. It was very well organized and there was plenty of parking, always a plus! We didn’t register soon enough for t-shirts but ended up getting some after the race so it worked it. We picked up our packets and hung out for a while. It was around 50 degrees and partially overcast so it was a little chilly at first, but perfect for racing.

I was hoping for PR (under 30:32) but was really wanting to come in somewhere around the 27 minute range. Since my runs have been inconsistent I wasn’t sure what the outcome would be.

Well, I finally got my new PR! It was an awesome course with a few small hills but nothing major. The weather was perfect for running and I was feeling good. I probably started out a bit too fast (the first mile was around 8 minutes) but then, I always do. I don’t have the official time and I forgot to stop my Garmin (as always!) but I think the clock was around 27:50…hooray!

My dad and I (can you tell that we’re related? ;)), after the race.

IMG_4412

He ran an awesome race and came in a few minutes before me. Can’t wait to get the official results!

We hung out for a bit and then headed home. I had a ton of water and a banana, and then a date at home. Love these!

IMG_4415

Time to find some lunch and look for our next race! Did anyone else race today?

