Hi friends! It’s almost Friday! (Friday, gotta get down on Friday) Sorry. πŸ™‚

Since we haven’t been doing P90X I haven’t been waking up early for my workouts…I’m really missing the early sweat sessions! It really wakes me up and I don’t feel so rushed all day…must get back into it!

I didn’t leave enough time to go for a run this morning so I whipped up some breakfast instead. Food > running. I wasn’t feeling the usual eggs so I put together a yogurt bowl instead.

DSC_1421 

It included pineapple Chobani, raw oats, chia seeds, and some strawberries. Tasty and perfectly filling, thanks to the protein content of greek yogurt and chia. I can see this making a comeback as the days get warmer.

Once home from work I threw together a hefty salad with some staying power…romaine, carrots, cucumbers, tomatoes, two slices of ham, croutons, and pepper jack cheese. Some pickles jumped into the bowl too.

DSC_1443

DSC_1447

Honey mustard joined the party as well.

I was determined to get a run in today and suited up shortly after lunch. Since my water intake was rather low today I decided to sport my lovely fuel belt with one of the water bottles (mine holds two), even though I was only planning on four miles. I usually take it (or my Camelbak) out on runs that’ll last over an hour. I try to always carry some form of sugar with me, no matter the length, just in case my blood sugar levels drop suddenly.

DSC_1459 

DSC_1462

You know you want one.

It was a bit chilly and the sky kept spitting but it was a great run! I got a few side cramps, which I’m sure were from not enough water and not waiting long enough after I ate, but I kept moving along. I took a quieter route than normal and it was really peaceful and calming. Just me and the road…and my fuel belt, Garmin, iPod, cell phone, fruit snacks, etc. πŸ™‚ The life of a modern runner (though I know many today are minimalists too). I underestimated the loop and ended up doing 5 miles (in 49:22). A successful jaunt!

After stretching and a brief shower, I’m ready for some dinner! Take-out would be nice… πŸ˜‰

Do you carry water when you run? What method do you prefer (hand-held, belt, or backpack, or…)?

