And by old friend, I mean oatmeal. Whipped banana oats, to be exact.

DSC_1514

I’ve missed you.

DSC_1517

It’s not normal to talk to your food? Oh.

Anyway, I clearly have issues but we’ll talk about that later (or not). Nothing sounded good for dinner tonight until I spotted the jar of oats on the counter. Problem solved. I haven’t had a nice, hot bowl of oats in ages and it hit the spot. So good!

In the pot:

  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup fat free milk
  • 1/2 banana, thinly sliced
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • a dash of vanilla
  • a pinch of salt
  • topped with some walnuts and peanut butter chips (best.topping.ever)

DSC_1523

This may have been the best bowl yet…the peanut butter chips were amazing!! Especially after they melted a little…

Enjoyed with some gorgeous strawberries on the side. I can’t wait to pick my own!

DSC_1521

I’ve been in a real exercise rut lately, which I blame on the dreary weather. I set my alarm for an early gym workout this morning but found the snooze button a few too many times. I can definitely notice the lack of exercise in my energy levels and I need to get with the program…no more excuses! I would really like to try a kickboxing class to mix things up so hopefully I can get to one soon.

Enjoy your evening!

Have you ever taken a kickboxing class? What did you think?

I’ve only been to one and it was a while ago…I was a little intimated and the class was packed so it wasn’t very enjoyable. The gym I go to now isn’t very busy so I don’t think it would be so bad. I loved the P90X Kenpo workout so I definitely want to try one!

