(That was my name in Spanish class for five years…)

Hi guys! I can’t believe this week is almost over! Crazy.

Unfortunately I didn’t make it to the gym this morning…I was pretty annoyed with myself! I really need to get new running shoes this weekend so I can get some mileage in.

After work I came home and made a big, leafy salad. I was craving veggies!

DSC_1512

Romaine, broccoli slaw, tomatoes, cucumber, feta, ham, and croutons. Honey mustard was drizzled on after the photo.

Delicious…just what I was needing!

I had something new on the menu for dinner and I was excited to try it…homemade tortillas! I browsed Foodgawker for a recipe and was pleasantly surprised with how easy they seemed to make. I printed out this recipe and got down to business.

Kneading the dough, which is just flour (I used half white and half whole wheat), shortening, salt, and hot water.

DSC_1519

Separated and ready for chilling.

DSC_1524

All rolled out and draped around the kitchen. Mine were not very uniform or round.

DSC_1526

To cook, just heat a dry skillet over medium-high heat. Cook on each side for about 30-45 seconds. That’s it!

DSC_1530

DSC_1534

Who knew they were so easy? They were good but not mind-blowing…though I don’t think flour tortillas ever are. If I made them again I would add something to the dough, maybe some herbs or a garlic paste…just for a little pizzazz! Yes, I said pizzazz.

We made tacos with leftover pulled pork from the freezer (finally gone Smile), broccoli slaw, TJ’s salsa and plain greek yogurt.

DSC_1538 

DSC_1554

Yum! I had two.

Mint chip ice cream completed the evening. I only eat the green kind. Open-mouthed smile

DSC_1557

What is your favorite flavor of ice cream?

Since I could never chose just one, mine are (green) mint chip and coffee. I have an ice cream problem, actually. It’s a delicious problem to have.

