To buy a…fat pig? Not quite.

I woke up before my alarm this morning at 7:30, surprising myself as I usually sleep in a little on Saturdays. It was just as well, though, because I had big plans for this morning.

After laying in bed for a little while I got up and got dressed for the gym. I grabbed a banana, water bottle, and my iPod and was out the door in a jiffy.

DSC_1556

I got to the gym at around 8:15, figuring that it would be packed. Not so! I was pleasantly surprised that there were only a few other people there!

I ended up having an awesome workout…I didn’t rush myself and used machines/weights that I might not normally use if more people were there. Sometimes I am too embarrassed to use a new machine or go all out with the free weights when it’s busy…I’m working on it! I just remind myself that other people are busy with their own workouts and not watching to see if I’m using the machines correctly.

I warmed up with 10 minutes on the elliptical and then did a full  body strength session. I was able to up the weights on most of the machines so I was pretty excited about that. I also did a lot more with free weights, though I’m still using a low weight (5 lbs.). I actually used some of the moves I learned in P90X! It really taught me a lot in terms of utilizing free weights, as well as different stretches.

I finished off the workout with some ab work and 20 minutes of spinning (set on random). It took me about 1.25 hours total.

After toweling off I headed out. I grabbed an iced coffee and stopped at a farmer’s market up the street from me. It was a bust, with only about four tables. 😦 I was so looking forward to it, too! I still managed to grab some raspberry jam and some strawberries.

DSC_1557

There are a few other farmer’s markets in our area so I’ll have to check them out some other time.

DSC_1564

The strawberries are really ripe so I figured I better use some up…strawberry protein pancakes for the win! I used this mix that I had sitting around and added half a scoop of protein powder (and upped the milk a little).

DSC_1569

I then diced a handful of strawberries and added them to the batter.

DSC_1571

Enjoyed with some butter and real maple syrup…the perfect weekend breakfast!

DSC_1574 

DSC_1580

They almost tasted like a muffin, so fluffy with little chunks of strawberry…yum!

DSC_1584

 DSC_1599 DSC_1601

Good to the last bite!

DSC_1608

Do you have a farmer’s market near you? What are your favorite things to buy?

