Hi guys! Hope you had a relaxing weekend! I ended up going to a 3-hour Zumba bash on Saturday night, after I had already worked out at the gym that morning…it was awesome but I was completely wiped out after. Needless to say, yesterday was a rest day. 🙂

I’ve been kind of dragging all day today and it’s probably from my lack of nutrients (and water)! I had a bowl of cereal for breakfast and an iced coffee at work. My lunch consisted of a slice of pineapple pizza and about twice my weight in watermelon!

DSC_1552

I pretty much polished it off. Maybe I’m dehydrated? Very possible. I haven’t felt very hungry at all today. It might have something to do with the fact that I had major blood sugar issues yesterday (I wasn’t getting any insulin…all day), but they are thankfully sorted out now.

I wanted to get to the gym but I couldn’t get out of my own way…no biggie! Tomorrow’s another day.

For dinner we tried something new that I picked up last week at the grocery store…frozen pre-seasoned salmon filets. I’ve never purchased frozen fish before but this was on sale and wild so I figured we could try it out…and we won’t be trying it again! 😀 Reid said to never buy anything with “cuisine” in the name again.

DSC_1557

I’m sure plain frozen salmon would be totally fine (since even the “fresh” stuff is usually previously frozen anyway) but I wouldn’t recommend this! We still ate it though with rice pilaf and steamed broccoli and green beans.

DSC_1561

The Lazy Vegetarian

As I mentioned last week, I decided to try going without meat (Including fish, which I consider ‘meat’) for a week, just as a little experiment. I wanted to see if I would miss it or not since I haven’t been enjoying it very much lately. I wouldn’t say that my regular diet is particularly meat-heavy, but it’s still present at almost every dinner.

I wouldn’t say that I missed meat in my diet exactly, but my meals last week weren’t very creative and I found that I wasn’t getting enough protein. I think the main reason was because I was a little lazy and didn’t really try to find new protein sources. Rather than replace the protein I would normally get from meat and fish, I just omitted it. Not a good idea. My protein mainly came from eggs and protein powder, which is not exactly ideal and not feasible for the long run.

DSC_1599 DSC_1552

I know there are plenty of non-meat protein sources (like tempeh, tofu, and beans) and I wish I had experimented more. I also found that the restaurants/sandwich shops around us don’t have very many vegetarian options, mainly veggie burgers or veggie wraps/sandwiches. Not a whole lot of protein involved!

So, I’m glad that I chose to do this little experiment, as I enjoyed the challenge. I think that going forward I will try to prepare more creative vegetarian meals, but will also include some meat and fish in my diet. As I mentioned before, I don’t feel that eating meat is necessarily a bad thing, as long as it comes from a good source and is consumed in moderation. I do really love fish (mainly wild Alaskan Salmon) so I will probably be eating more fish than red meat.

And just for fun…

DSC_1554  Can you guess the phrase?

Reid and I are headed out for an evening stroll and then it’s Bachelorette time!

Have a good night!

