Good morning! Happy weekend! Smile Hope you have some fun plans ahead!

DSC_1587

That, my friends, is perfection on a plate. Winking smile I decided to whip up some pancakes this morning and threw in some fresh blueberries. For mine, anyway. Reid prefers his plain. Weirdo.

Whenever I make pancakes I always thin out the batter since Reid likes really thin cakes. This usually means that adding anything to the batter doesn’t work out too well but these actually held up! So light and fluffy, with juicy bites of blueberry…summery goodness at it’s finest!

Blueberry Buttermilk Pancakes

DSC_1586

ingredients

  • 1 3/4 cups flour (I used 1 1/4 cups AP and 1/2 cup whole wheat)
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg, slightly beaten
  • 1 1/2 cups buttermilk* (I added about 1/8-1/4 cup of regular milk to make thinner pancakes.)
  • 3 tablespoons cooking oil
  • blueberries

*For a quick buttermilk substitute, put one tablespoon of vinegar or lemon juice in a liquid measuring cup and add enough milk to make 1 cup total. Allow to sit for about 5 minutes before using.

In a large bowl stir together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In a separate bowl combine the egg, buttermilk, and oil. Add the milk mixture all at once to the dry ingredients. Stir until moistened.

Pour onto a lightly greased hot griddle or pan and sprinkle with blueberries. Cook until the center bubbles and the pancakes are golden brown. Flip and cook another 1-2 minutes.

Source: adapted from the Better Homes and Gardens cookbook

DSC_1577 

I ate two, with some butter and real maple syrup. And iced coffee for sipping…

DSC_1582

The perfect start to any day!

My day is wide open and I love it! I may sit by the pool for a while (at my parents’ house) and read…and maybe go for a run later.

Enjoy your day!

