Hi guys! Happy Monday! Smile

I had to work this morning but was out at 1. It was overcast and cool, which was so welcome after the heat wave we had this weekend! I ate a quick pb&j and headed out to grab some groceries.

By the time I got home it was drizzling a little but I still changed into running clothes because today marks day one of half marathon training!

DSC_1628

That’s right, I signed up for my third! If everything goes as planned, I’ll be running the Applefest half on October 1st.

My dad also registered so I’ll hopefully have a running buddy for a few training runs. I don’t expect to run the race with him since he’s pretty speedy. I ran this race last year and haven’t done a half since then so I’m pretty excited to start upping my mileage. I created my own training plan and hopefully everything will go smoothly!

Even though I’ve ran two half marathons and multiple other races of various lengths, I sometimes don’t feel like a runner. Maybe it’s because I’m not particularly speedy, I’m not sure. Today, though, I felt like a runner.

Dressed and ready to go! Braided hair for wet conditions.

DSC_1610

I was excited to start training and wasn’t going to let a little rain get in the way. I threw on a long-sleeve wicking shirt.

DSC_1599

That drizzle turned to a downpour, but I still proceeded. Because I am a runner.

I was soaked within minutes. A mile in, half of my braid was loose and clinging to my face. It turned into a bun quickly.

Failing at my attempt to dodge puddles, my shoes were drenched and I could feel the blisters start to form. I contemplated running barefoot.

DSC_1635

That ‘cute’ running skirt had to be rung out every few minutes or I risked losing it.

DSC_1643

It was only 3 miles, but I felt pretty hardcore. Everyone driving by was probably thinking more along the lines of ‘moron’.

DSC_1645

I am a runner.

