Good morning, friends!

I met up with a some friends last night for dinner at Harlow’s in Peterborough, NH. I had never been there before but will definitely go back! It’s a small pub and the menu is pretty standard but everyone loved their meals. We don’t drink alcohol so we were just there for the food. Smile

DSC_1614

DSC_1615

I went with the Blairwhich, a roast beef sandwich with horseradish, peppers, onions, jalapenos and cheese, served on toasted bread.

DSC_1619

The bread was really good! I really want to try the roasted red pepper and goat cheese salad next time…sounds delicious!

I came home to find this…

DSC_1621

Reid, obviously bored, trying to scare me! Lol! I laughed for about 15 minutes…must’ve been tired! Open-mouthed smile And it didn’t work because I came home before he was done and he forgot to turn the light off…brilliant.

I’ve been wanting to get on a different schedule since I usually stay up pretty late and then wake up late, dashing around to get ready for work. I would really like to get some morning workouts in again so I decided that today was the day (mainly because I know I won’t have time later)! Even though I was tired, I dragged myself out of bed at 6 a.m. to get ready for a run.

I knew that if I could just get moving I would be fine so I got dressed and headed downstairs. Pre-run fuel was a slice of bread with sunflower butter and water.

DSC_1622

Stage One: Tired but ready to go…

DSC_1629

Stage Two: Annoyed…my hair tie slipped out at Mile .35 so I had to turn around to get a new one…and it was raining.

DSC_1634

Stage Three: Mission complete! Don’t mind my bangs…the twist doesn’t always tame them.

DSC_1635

I ended up having a great run! I completed 4 miles in 41:22 (10:21 pace). I tried to focus on shortening my stride and keeping my shoulders back and I was surprised by how much these simple adjustments helped my pace! It cut at least half a minute off, though I kept falling back into my old running form so my time doesn’t reflect that. Practice will make (almost) perfect!

Shortening my steps helped with my energy levels, yet made me a little speedier! And I sometimes slouch a little while running and fixing it helped my breathing a lot. I just have to make sure I’m using my core strength and not just tensing up.

I came home and make a pineapple berry smoothie…

  • 1 cup organic non-fat milk
  • frozen pineapple
  • frozen raspberries and blackberries
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (I use Swanson whey protein that I received as a sample and love it! It mixes in so well…will definitely buy more when my stash runs out)

DSC_1641

It was really thick and had some trouble blending but ’twas delicious!

It’s work time…

Enjoy your day!

If you run, have you had to correct your stride or gait? How did you go about it?

I need to work on my gait as well, since I’m a heavy heel striker. Maybe shortening my stride will help with that?

