I woke up this morning after a dreadful night of sleep (or lack of), feeling like…garbage. My stomach was unsettled and my head was aching. Happy Monday, all right. I got up and showered to head in to work but I didn’t end up going and crawled back into bed instead. After a few more hours of sleep, I felt a little better but still rather annoyed. I hate being sick! 😦

I ate some peanut butter crackers for ‘breakfast’ and called it good.

DSC_1624

I stationed myself on the couch with a book and my laptop for some blog-reading…

DSC_1620

Rather than dwell on the fact that I don’t feel fantastic and that I missed work, I’m choosing to focus on the positive and joyful aspects of my day! Just by thinking of a few things that make me smile puts everything into a different perspective.

It’s such a beautiful, breezy day so the windows are open and the curtains are fluttering! Colbie Caillat is playing…

DSC_1621

That makes me smile. It feels like fall!

I managed to get out for a bit and grabbed an iced coffee…

DSC_1618

which also makes me smile! 🙂

This weekend was fun-filled and busy…some highlights:

  • a hike up Mt. Watatic on Saturday.

  • a fireworks show on Saturday night.
  • lunch al fresco at Twelve Pine yesterday.
  • an evening run last night…I only made it just over 3 miles before it got too dark but it was still awesome.

What were your weekend highlights?

I’m hoping that I feel up for a run later and I’m planning on actually making dinner tonight…it’s been a while!

How do you ‘choose joy’?

Need some money management help? Check out Errign’s post on budgeting! She’s got some great tips that I plan to utilize, like automatically putting a percentage of your income into savings, even if it’s only a small amount. I usually wait until the end of the month before transferring extra into savings but this method seems much more effective.

