Hi guys! Wow, did this week fly by! I mentioned last week that I really needed to get back onto my training schedule (I’m running a half in October) and I’ve been doing pretty well this week! I’m not up to where I should be mileage-wise but I am at least getting the runs in. I know I promised that I’d share my training schedule with you so here it is!Applefest Training Plan 001

Please remember that I’m not a trainer or running coach. I designed this program for myself and it may not be right for you.

I created this plan myself but based it loosely on Hal Higdon’s Novice Half Marathon schedule, which I followed for my previous half marathons. I really wanted to incorporate more "’long-ish’ runs during the week since I thought that would help me to reach my goal of a PR, and only planned three runs a week so I wouldn’t burn out. I didn’t have time for running for a couple weeks so I’m doing some adjusting…of training and my goals.

I got in a quick run yesterday, though it wasn’t a very pleasant one. I ran two miles and walked .75…not exactly a quality training run but I’m okay with that.

Last night’s dinner featured a snack plate…maybe it was the heat but I just wasn’t in the mood to make anything.

DSC_1619

A peach, wheat crackers, cheddar cheese, and garlic and chive hummus.

DSC_1624

Reid keeps pulling tomatoes from the garden faster than we can eat them…he gets creative! Winking smile

DSC_1630

This morning I ended up grabbing a bagel for breakfast on my way to work. I also had an iced coffee. It was necessary.

I got out at 1:00 and came home to make some lunch. Nothing sounded good (seriously? I usually love food!!) so I decided to whip up a smoothie, featuring these lovelies.

DSC_1632

Triple berry banana smoothie made with frozen berries, a frozen banana half, 1/2 cup of orange juice, a scoop of protein powder, and a tablespoon of chia seeds.

DSC_1640

Served in a bowl and topped with raw oats. Delicious.

DSC_1642

So, I’ve added another race to my agenda! I’ll be running the Viking 5K on September 17th. The race course looks pretty hilly but it should be fun and challenging. I think my mom is going to run it too!

Here are the details (from active.com) if you’re local and interested! You can register online here, call 603-878-0819, or email mascenicviking5K@yahoo.com.

Mascenic Viking 5K Road Race and Fitness Walk

Date: Saturday, September 17, 2011 @ 8:00 AM

Address: Mascenic Regional High School- 175 Turnpike Road, New Ipswich, NH

Registration Fee: $15.00

Brief Description: A fun community event celebrating Mascenic Regional High School Homecoming and the MRHS Cross Country Team. Features professional timing, free t-shirt for pre-registered runners (by 9/12), prizes, music and post race refreshments.

Additional Information: Same day registration available from 7:00 – 8:00 a.m. at MRHS. Course has challenging, rolling hills along the country roads of New Ipswich. All runners and walkers are welcome!

Disclaimer: I am receiving free race admission in exchange for blogging about this event. As always, any opinions expressed on Will Run for Food are honest and my own.

Any races planned this month?

What’s your go-to dinner when you don’t feel like cooking?

