Happy weekend!!

I had an eight mile run planned for this morning so I tried to prepare for it yesterday by hydrating, planning a route and getting to bed at a decent time…I was in bed by 10:00 but didn’t fall asleep for a few hours…argh.

My alarm was set for 6:30 but I didn’t end up getting out of bed until an hour later…I actually had a dream that it was raining and I had to push my run back! I woke up to dry ground. Smile I got dressed and fueled up with half of a bagel with veggie cream cheese and an iced coffee (which worked well, no stomach issues!).

DSC_1607

I decided to wear my fuel belt today and packed a GU and some fruit snacks…and left a mess in my wake! No time for cleaning…not when you’re racing the heat! Open-mouthed smile

DSC_1608

I clipped my Reid’s iPod to the belt but tucked the headphones away. I wanted to get into a good groove first! It was 60 degrees and perfect running weather. I started out slow and steady, since I knew I had some tough hills to conquer not too far into my route. When racing in New England you need to train on hills! They’re pretty much inevitable.

I kept repeating a few ‘mantras’ throughout the run…for hills, slow and steady, for downhill portions and flat areas, settle (as in, settle into a doable pace). It may sound kind of silly but it really helped a lot!! Especially the reminders to take it easy and not burn myself out.

And a big accomplishment for me…I ran the whole route without any music!!! This is huge since I would always run with headphones up until just recently. Applefest is very strict about their ‘no music’ rule so I struggled last year without it. I’m overcoming that crutch! I was very excited about that.

8.04 miles in 1:24:29, a 10:31 pace (if I remember correctly). We are making progress! I gave myself a goal of 1:30 so I was happy.

DSC_1614

I ate my GU at mile 4.5 and I may just need to stick with that, rather than the chews. I’m not a huge fan of the texture but it worked better than trying to chew something.

DSC_1623

Shoes, we’ve had a good run (haha) but it’s time to move on…my knees are starting to hurt!

DSC_1618

I stretched and made some breakfast…2 eggs over easy and the other half of the bagel.

DSC_1629

My legs were feeling pretty tight so I figured staying active would help, rather than hanging out on the couch. A clean car is a happy car! Mine is shining now.

I skipped out and grabbed some lunch from Coll’s…a garden salad with some harvest chicken salad (with dried cranberries and walnuts). An apple for munching. Lots of hydration.

DSC_1635

DSC_1634

Next up…making some salsa!

Enjoy your weekend!!

Music while running: yay or nay?

