Hi friends! Hope you’re enjoying your Sunday!

A few weeks ago I was invited to run the Viking 5K, a local race to raise money for the high school booster club…of course I jumped at the offer! I love racing close to home. It makes things so much easier!

The race started at 8 a.m. yesterday morning, with registration and pick-up opening at 7:00. I woke up at 6:30 to temperatures in the 30’s. Yikes! My knee was really tight so I told myself I would just take it easy.

Prerace fuel, though I only ate half of the bagel…

DSC_1735

really could have used some hot coffee…

DSC_1736

I needed to get a long run in so I packed up my fuel belt and a change of clothes so that I could just stop at my parent’s house afterwards and head out for some extra mileage post race. By the time I was heading out it had warmed up a little bit to perfect running temps.

The race was held at the high school and was really well-organized…plenty of parking close by and lots of room at the start!

DSC_1742 

I walked up to the table and was handed a packet with my race bib, safety pins, t-shirt, and some goodies! Food is always a good thing. Winking smile

DSC_1751

The course was downhill for the first two miles and uphill for the last mile…I was dreading the hill but it actually wasn’t too bad! I finished at 28:52 and was happy with that.

DSC_1760

Some post-race shots…

Professional timing…

DSC_1749

I loved that they had times listed immediately…

DSC_1744

Food and water…

DSC_1747

Another great perk of a local race…friends!! Smile

DSC_1743

Darci, Chanel, and Nicole…great job girls!! You all rocked it!

Overall it was an awesome event and I hope it becomes an annual thing! You could tell that it was organized by runners! Smile

Disclaimer: I received free race admission in exchange for writing about this event. As always, any opinions expressed on Will Run for Food are honest and my own.

I hung out at the race for a little while and then headed out. I dropped my car off, filled up my fuel belt, removed my bib, and set out on a 7-mile loop. It had a nice mix of hills and flat areas and the temps were hovering in the 60’s. Perfection. My knee was still bothering me a little but I didn’t notice it after the first mile. 10 miles complete, sans music! I finished up in about an hour and 44 minutes (including my time and mileage from the race).

Very thankful for an unheated pool afterwards!!

DSC_1766

DSC_1771

And snacks…

DSC_1770

And some furry company (Max).

DSC_1775

It was a great running day!! I’m feeling a little more confidant for my upcoming half marathon. Only two weeks left!

