Hi friends! I had to check the date on my last post to see when I was here last and couldn’t believe that it’s been four months!! Crazy. It’s been so busy and hectic but things are starting to slow down now.

We went from this…

DSC_1959

To this…

DSC_1963

And, finally, this!

DSC_1969

 

I would need to write a novel to fully describe what we went through but I’ll just give a quick run-down for you.

  • I went in for my weekly appointment on Monday, April 30th, and was admitted after the non stress test showed that I was having contractions. I couldn’t feel them and felt fine. They started me on medication to try to stop the contractions since I was only 34 weeks.
  • My blood pressure began to elevate but I was able to spend the next night at home, on bed rest. It was also the night of my shower which I sadly did not get to attend.
  • We returned to the hospital the next day to start a series of steroid shots to help the baby’s lungs to develop more quickly. I received 4 shots over the next 48 hours, as well as the medication to stop labor.
  • On Friday it became evident that I was developing pre-eclampsia and I was transferred to a hospital an hour and a half away that was better suited to deal with a high-risk pregnancy and a premature baby.
  • The next four days involved about seven different IV lines, multiple rounds of Miso (similar to Cervadil), continuous fetal monitoring, and many, many doses of Pitocin. My body was clearly not ready to deliver a baby but because of the pre-eclampsia (which was progressing rapidly and causing my kidneys to start to shut down) we couldn’t just wait it out on bed rest.
  • Finally on Tuesday morning things started to progress. Labor moved along fairly quickly at this point and I delivered a healthy baby girl at 2:15 pm!

 

553588_10150895191507899_1686183250_n[1]

 

Matilda Evelyn was born on May 8th, weighing in at 6 pounds, 2 ounces and 18.5 inches long! She was 5 1/2 weeks early and had to stay in the NICU for 2 weeks to work on eating and to lower her bilirubin levels (causes jaundice).

Being a mother has been incredible…incredibly amazing and incredibly exhausting! Smile It’s still sinking in (after 7 weeks) that we have a daughter! It’s definitely nothing that you can ever prepare for but it’s so worth it…she fits into our lives perfectly and I already can’t imagine it without her!

 

IMG_5809

 

IMG_5569

IMG_5432

 

IMG_5698

(Last four photos by Amber Joy Photography)

