I declare that today was a good day! 😀 Work was a lot of fun and the temperature was a breezy 60 degrees! I am really appreciating the cooler days. I think my body is already starting to adjust to being on my feet all day because my feet didn’t hurt as bad today when I got home…though my heels have been experiencing sharp pains…hmm. Despite the pains I determined that I really couldn’t afford not to run today, as I hadn’t been out all week.

I changed into my running clothes (this helps me to get into the running mood if I’m not feeling it) and fueled up. Pre-run fuel today? Two pumpkin chocolate chip cookies (which I want to add taste more like muffin tops than cookies, the texture is really light and airy), some honeydew melon, and iced tea! 🙂 Obviously very nutritious!

DSC_0498

I tossed on my CamelBak and hit the road. It was a little chilly at first but I warmed up fast. My heels were killing me by .5 miles, I almost had to stop and walk. I told myself that I only had to do two miles if that’s all I could do and to just push through it. Thankfully I did because they stopped hurting after another mile or so and I felt fantastic! One of the best runs that I have had in a long time! I was able to hold a fairly steady pace, even with a bunch of hills thrown in for good measure! I was getting a little nervous about my upcoming half but this run help to ease my fears a little bit…

DSC_0502

Five miles at an average pace of 10:17/mile…This included waiting at a bunch of crosswalks. During the run I kept looking down to see that I was running at a 9:30-9:50 pace which really surprised me! Being the turtle that I am that is pretty good for me! Hopefully I’ll be able to keep this pace on race day and I could come in around 2:15, which is my unofficial goal. 🙂 I’m trying not to set one so that I won’t be disappointed if I don’t reach it. Running a half marathon is a pretty big accomplishment on its own and I have to remember that! But I’m still shooting for a PR!

Sweaty, as usual…

DSC_0505

Now to scrounge up some dinner and ice my heels! 🙂